VSA Awards 2018

August 11, 2018, Bacchus Marsh


IMG 2110IMG 2111


VSA AGM and Presidents meeting,

13 Clubs including 37 individual members attended.





 1. State Comp Open and 18m: 

 18m Craig Vinall (Wakerie Gliding Club)

 IMG 2092  

 2 . State Comp 15 meter: 

 Bruce Cowan ( GC) - accpted by Matt Gage



 3. State Comp Standard class: 

 Gary Stevenson (Grampian Soaring Club)  


 4. State Comp Club class:

 Bernie Sizer (Grampians Soaring Club)

 r traill  


 5. Ron Roberts Trophy ­longest flight:

 Richard Traill (Melbourne Gliding Club) -

 784.3km Declared Triangle from Wangaratta

                                       Flight Details

IMG 2099   


  6. David Hooper Memorial Trophy longest flight within 2 years of solo: 

  Jason Tang (Melbourne Gliding Club) - Accepted by Tighe Patching

  322km FAI Triangle from Wangaratta

Flight Details

 j laker  


 7. Bob McCullough Instructing Trophy: 

 Judy Laker (Melbourne Gliding Club)

 also presented with an

"Outstanding Service Award" from Melbourne Gliding Club



 8. Maurice Little Memorial Trophy for significant achievements in club development: 

 Gliding Club of Victoria - accepted by Jonathon McAilece

In recognition of the GCV' efforts over nine years to develop an effective flight simulator for gliding.
farrow hancock  


 9. G Vincent Memorial Trophy

Trevor Handcok (Grampians Soaring Club) &

Jeff Farrow (Geelong Gliding Club) - Accepted by Jeff Farrow

 - for a wave flight to 18,000 (approximately) on 11 June 2017 from Ararat airfield. Flight was in Trevor's Arcus 2-seater.

                                       Flight details

buskens cleland   


 10. Presidents Award for significant contribution to the VSA and  gliding: 

 Peter Buskens & David Cleland (Beaufort Gliding Club)

- for significant contribution to the VSA and gliding.




11. Living Treasures :


Kevin Owen



 Bob Wylie (South Gippsland Gliding Club) - accpted by Kevin Owen


m power



  Martin Power (Geelong Gliding Club) 


Rhonda Gelletly  

  Rhonda Gelletly (Gliding Club of Victoria) - Accepted by Jonathon McAilece

 d goldsmith     David Goldsmith (Geelong Gliding Club)
m cavanagh  


 Certificate of Appreciation 

 Marcia Cavanagh (Australain Gliding Museum)