VSA Awards 2014

Saturday August 23, 

The VSA hosted the 2014 awards presentation at the Glding Club of Victoria, Benalla, celebrating events and contributions over the last year plus contributions generally to the VSA and gliding. The award recipients are listed in the file below. (* did not attend)

State Competition - Open & 18 metre:  Tony Tabart* (Corangamite Soaring Club)
State Competition - 15 metre & Standard: Gary Stevenson* (Grampians Soaring Club)
State Competition - Sports Class:  Joint winners - John Buchanan* / Stephen Pemberton (Geelong Gliding Club)


Ron Roberts Trophy.
This trophy is awarded for the longest flight made by a VSA pilot (i.e. a member club of the VSA) commenced from a VSA administered airfield during the year commencing on 1st May and finishing on 30th April 2014.  This year it was awarded to Bob Nicholls
David Hooper Memorial Trophy.
Presented for the longest flight made by a VSA pilot (ie a member club of the VSA) within two years of going solo, commenced from a VSA administered airfield during the year commencing 1 May and finishing on 30 April 2014.  
This year: No nomination


The Bob McCullough Trophy 

Awarded for services to instructing within the VSA.  This year it was awarded to John O'Neill (South Gippsland GC)




Maurice Little Memorial Trophy

For Club Development

The Maurice Little Memorial Trophy is awarded by the VSA Executive to a VSA Club which has made significant achievements in the development of their Club. This year it was awarded to Geelong Gliding Club,  in recognition of their successful cadet program.  David Fynmore accepted the award.




President's Award 

For significant contribution to the VSA and Gliding:  Peter Buskens.  Peter has transformed the funding from the SRV over the last 3 years which has allowed to VSA to significantly boost its support to clubs and club members.